Image

Sacrifice for the dead.

Sacrifice_for_the_dead

11 responses

  1. What exactly are the mounds? What’s been sacrificed here?

    10/12/2012 at 11:08 am

    • Hi Patrina!

      around 50 pigs and 10 buffaloes, the mounds are pigs chopped to pcs.😦

      They were moving their village to another site and they were sacrificing them so that the spirits of the ancestors would move to the new site and continue protecting them…at least that is what I can remember…

      thank you for your comment!

      10/12/2012 at 12:22 pm

      • wow please tell me that was at least consumed and not just there to rot?

        10/12/2012 at 12:44 pm

      • After the sacrifice the animals were chopped and guarded by the clan chiefs for the whole day, it was then offered to the spirits in a ceremony and after that distributed to the different families of the village.

        So yes they ate everything!

        Many of those families had been saving a lot of money during quite sometime in order to be able to sacrifice those animals…I will put a link to the blog I wrote when I was here in another comment!

        10/12/2012 at 12:52 pm

      • Thanks, this is really intriguing. Now that I know it was eaten it makes a lot more sense to me. It’s like a big moving party lol

        10/12/2012 at 12:58 pm

      • yeah it isπŸ˜€

        10/12/2012 at 1:30 pm

  2. this is the post I wrote about it! I just read it, it brings me amazing memories!πŸ˜€

    http://wp.me/pN81K-2Z

    10/12/2012 at 1:11 pm

  3. Reblogged this on panalyah's Blog.

    11/12/2012 at 11:35 am

  4. Very nice picture

    15/12/2012 at 5:57 pm

    • thank you Jacek! I think it is a little bit hard picture, there is a lot of chopped meat in front of this guy! But I like the composition and the man in hte back with the umbrella…

      Muchas gracias!

      16/12/2012 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

