Change of plans!!!

Hi everybody!

Yep. Corn Island belongs to the past. Well, recent past as I left this morning and I am back at Managua…and don’t get me wrong, I LOVED BIG CORN AND LITTLE CORN!!!

I arrived on the evening of the 12th to Big Corn with all my dive gear and headed directly to the Dive Center which I was going to work and that I am not going to mention any more.

After 5 minutes talking with my future boss I just felt I had to run away from there so I took all my stuff, said “MUCHAS GRACIAS PERO NO”, and left to the closest hostel.

Basically the owner wanted me to run the show as I was going to be the only dive instructor (this was a surprise, I thought he was an instructor and there was another one more) and it is too early for that, I haven’t certified a single person yet!

That and the fact that he didn’t inspire me confidence at all…all my being was screaming “Get out of here!!!!!Fast!!!!”

Let me tell you that Big Corn was an amazing place, people where always happy and having loads of laughs, the locals are the descendants of British prospectors and freed African slaves, most of them are black and they have a very laidback attitude, and they speak in incomprehensible English… it would be a wonderful place to live on those islands guys, I think you can live 100 years or more as it is so laidback around there.

I spent 2 days at Big Corn Island, there is a beautiful beach called long beach, It was around 1 km long, and I was the only one there except for a native mother, her three sons, and the lady that took care of the only bar in the beach, I had a swim and after this I sat with her and chat for a while as we were the only persons at the bar…The harbor is also very nice, you can see the sunset while you watch the sea, the boats and the kids playing around a couple of swings in front of the harbor….

Then when you go to bed it is amazing: the roar of the wind and of the waves is so intense…it is unique! This and the fact I had to share my room on the first night with 3 gigantic cockroaches and around 20 mosquitoes which where all trying to get through my mosquito net…the second night I fixed this and upgraded to another room…much better guys😀

Little Corn is really a jewel, it is small, it has beautiful beaches and the vibe is really cool, everybody knows each other, they are all kind of a family….also if you want to chill out you can go to the east side of the island…there is NO ONE over there!! Don’t miss it guys!! I tried to have a couple of dives but weather conditions were not good, very windy so I was only able to make one dive in a site called the Buoy, or Stanley´s point, nothing very special, although I say a HUGE turtle, they told me it was a loggerhead turtle it looked kind of Jurassic guys…

for what I know the avge size is around 1m, which is already huge, and they can be up to 2.7 m big and weight half a ton!!!!This one, as the one in the picture was at the bottom with its head stuck between some rocks, it was really hard to see between the rocks, really well camuflated!And I spotted my first octopus since I arrived to the Caribbean (yay! so cool, perfectly mimetizing with the rocks around him)

And last….I found another job!!!! It is at Costa Rica, I will be there in 2 days, the place looks awesome for me to start, it is a very well established PADI Dive resort at Playas de Coco, I think the diving is amazing and I hear it is one of the best dive shops around for diving, the owners are a Swiss couple and I am so excited!!!!

This is the webpage of the Dive Resort,

http://www.summer-salt.com

I don’t know if there are hammerheads around, but there are Manta Rays, humpback whales, bull sharks…and here I will be able to learn how to run this business properly. It is going to be an amazing adventure, I’m so glad the owners have trusted me to join them and give me this opportunity!

See you later guys, and please come to see me here!!!!

PURA VIDA!!!

6 responses

  1. 🙂 how unlucky can a guy get.. Mucho gracias, pero no!!.. I laughed so hard😉 Good luck champ, looking forwrd to read more from you.

    17/01/2012 at 6:00 am

    • Vedis my blogger friend!! Looking for your next one as well…not clear where are you finally moving to, surprise me ;D

      18/01/2012 at 4:57 am

  2. Hans Baartman

    Hope thing turn out better 4 u. Make yourself happy, stay relaxed and enjpuy live. Co,

    Hans.

    17/01/2012 at 8:53 am

    • thank you Hans!! Lets go for it!😀

      18/01/2012 at 4:56 am

  3. Jose! How have I not seen this entry before!!? I’ve been wanting to visit corn island since before I moved to costa rica and now here studying the living over a 100 years old people here, like you mentioned there!!! Suuuuuper interesting!! And I love your go for it spirit! Beautiful!!

    31/05/2012 at 2:54 am

    • kelli….You just gave me an idea…!!!!

      Corn Island was beautiful…we have to go back together!!

      31/05/2012 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

