DAY 191: Exiled at Kuala Lumpur

Hello brothers and Sistas!!!!

Feels good to write something again, its been 2 months since my last post! The reason is that I have been very busy, I spent the last month and a half diving like crazy at komodo national park at the hands of Divine Diving, Labuanbajo. Ive done the Advance Course, the Rescue Diver course and I am now doing the Dive Master course…

I already did all my theory exams, and I have more or less the minimum amount of dives I need to be certified, but I know I need more experience, everyday I have to face new situations underwater, with different divers I will be responsible for and with different diving conditions, sometimes situations can be quite intense, so I want to continue making a lot of dives…guys, everyday I learn A LOT. And I learn so much more about my mistakes that at the end of the day, even when I know I did wrong, I feel also some good becouse it made me stronger, wiser, better…important lesson in life…making mistakes IS the way of enlightment my friends…so dont worry, be happy…

Life is incredibly intense,most of the days I wake up before the sun rises, we make sure that everything is arranged in the boat and we do everything we can so that the costumers of the dive operator are satisfied. Days are long, we leave after the sun sets most of the days and we again wake up early on the following… but the possibility of diving gives me so much back in return:guys, I live a life in which there is a door to another wold, and when you cross it you connect with mantas, eagle rays, devil rays, sharks, napoleon, bumpfish parrots,wrasses,tunas,  nudybranches, turtles, rainbows of fish and coral and other marine creatures…I am very happy!

Also, I must say that I have a new family back in the surface, which consists of the people with whom I dive with, so lucky to have finished in this place with such a cool people, everybody helps, everybody is different, with different diving experiences, nationalities, strengths and weaknesses, Maarten, Ash, Wietse,Christa, Marij, jubens…I will remember this time, this moment.

I stopped taking pics, basically I dont have time for anything else beside diving, now I am at Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur, I had to fly away of indonesia as I couldn’t arrange a visa extension on time, so I am exiled here until I get all my documents arranged, which will hopefully be tomorrow, today I submitted the application form and everything looks ok…

Strange, two days ago I was at Flores, Indonesia, at the immigration office, I could never have suspected I would have to leave the country in 24 hours and finish at Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur, running from airport to airport, exciting, like in the movies of spies…although not so exciting seeing my money gone in flights arranged on the last day at the last moment…this immigration problem is burning all my money in expensive flights…carpe diem…

The good thing is that now I had a week of, I could rest for a while, and surprisingly I met a couple of old friends from past adventures, I run into one traveller friend at the indonesia embassy and another one in the internet caffee…good health fabrize and Christoff!!!

…and for the rest of my nomad friends wish you all a great trip wherever you are, to all those who are already back home enjoy it as well, and for those that never left appreciate what you got, life is interesting intense and original everywhere, it mostly depends on you and what you want to make out of it!

a lot of love from KL

Jose

XXX

PD I bought as well my return ticket!!! A strange feeling when I pushed the confirmation button…half happy half sad… Back in the old continent on the 13th of December,I land in London… I am planning in visiting Adam before going back to bilbao, so happy to see again everybody back at home!

4 responses

  1. Jose,

    It looks like you’ve had a pretty amazing experience since leaving Canon – congratulations on truly living the spirit of Carpe Diem.

    Maybe you remember when I left Canon, I said I would travel, write a book and start my on company. I’ve done all three – a 5-month world trip plus 3 months in two blocks of East Europe and Greece. I also wrote and published a book about the world trip, and now am slowly but surely writing a book about Amsterdam. Also a big dive off the Canon boat!

    I remember you asked me about the quote from graffiti artist Laser 3.14 – “what worth these wings if we refuse to fly?” – and maybe that gave a tiny % of inspiration to make this jump/dive for you? I now met him as part of my research for the book and found him to be very creative and clever.

    Well, all the best and enjoy this time.

    Best regards,

    David

    25/08/2010 at 7:04 am

    • Heeeeeeeey David!!!!

      this trip was the best idea I ever had in my life, Ive experienced more in 10 months than in the last 10 years of my life, and if I say the last 10 months I could as well say all my life…

      Laser 3.14, was of course a source of inspiration, finding his graffitis and messages made yours, mine and I think many others think a little bit further than our normal rutinary lifes in the big city would normally do, I guess you had a great time knowing this guy…

      and wow David…you leave me speechless with what you have done….making life your own, rebellion of the individual…a lot of respect and admiration from hot and sweaty SE Asia bro!

      Carpe Diem bro!!!!

      26/08/2010 at 4:20 am

  2. ranky

    nice to hear the news mate! i reckon you’re doin a good job on the boat and under the sureface as well! seems that you’re enjoyin ever single day and thats what i like to hear!!! but i never expected you back so soon!
    by the way i safed the pics of our travel🙂 AND i’m learnin spanish again. so maybe we’ll have a conversation in spanish when you are back in europe😀

    take care my friend

    25/08/2010 at 6:58 pm

    • yeah!!! We shall meet in the old continent Ranky!!!!

      In total it would be 10 months, money is starting to run low, and I will love being in Xmas back home…

      the last month and a half will be in north tailand cambodia and laos…I think!

      see you later!

      26/08/2010 at 4:03 am

Leave a Reply

