DAY 86 POST 2: About the earthquake

Well, this is the same as for DAY 86 POST 1, so I am writing about the past (3 days ago I think )from the notes I made that day on my notebook:

09-05-2010

Banda Aceh, Sumatra

“Everyday something new: today an earthquake, 7.2 RS I think, It caught me at a Cybercaffe at Banda Aceh, just about to publish my blog (DAY 83).I see how everybody leaves the place, and somebody tells me “Out. Earthquake.”

So we all leave the place. The feeling is very strange, I come out from a dark place where I had been for the last 2 hours to the streets where the sun is shinning, I dont see well, everything shines too much, golden and black colors predominate., and it is hot, bloody hot.In the streets there is a lot of people. and then I clearly feel the tremors. It seems as if I would be in a boat, only that you are not in the sea. It is like if the earth would be alive, if you would be stepping on a sleepy giants belly, and he is doing his digestion. You feel like if you would be dizzy, but it is not in you but outside you the cause of this dizzyness…lamposts,traffic lights and  advertising posts shaking all around you.

The earthquake was near the mentawi islands, no tsunami this time, thank god. Epicentre located at  around 200 km from where I am.

-I skip this part :)-

According to one of the bus drivers  at the bus station I just had a chat with, this one was not small, it was medium.

Today I felt the earth move. The closest Ive been to mother earth. Now I understand why old civilizations thought the earth was a living creature.”

2 responses

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    25/05/2010 at 1:45 pm

    • Hi! Thanks! I am happy you like it, do I know you?

      anyway muchas gracias!

      Jose

      31/05/2010 at 12:45 pm

Leave a Reply

