DAY 71: MEDAN CRAZY MEDAN

Landed yesterday at Medan airport, a feeling of excitement when I realize I was the only white guy in the whole plane, everybody looking at me with surprise and curiosity jejeje

The arrival has been great, very dramatic scenery even to somebody that has been travelling for 2 and a half months through SE Asia,  holes in the road everywhere, even huge ones on the walkways which you have to hop between them, so dirty and ugly that it makes you feel so alive.

Also this is packed packed packed with mosquitoes, and after a conversation with an american guy who owns a guest house at Pulau Nias (great surfing in this island ) he has made me aware that islands are packed packed packed with malaria and cities are packed packed packed with dengue. After this comfortable comments I am now wearing long trousers and I have bought a long sleeve shirt to keep them away from biting, also bought some more mosquito repellent for my body and also for the room, tomorrow I will also use permitrina (some hardcore mosquito repellent for clothes) for all my clothes,cant do it now as I am on the move.

The hotel is quite disgusting, rotten smell, bathroom     stinks, and I had to bargain hard for having a room with a shower inclusive…yesterday night I think somebody raped a kid and I think in the morning he was raped again as I was hearing rythmic  screams which I couldn’t distinguished if they were of pain or of pleasure, or both at the same time, also at 4 o’clock in the morning I was woken up and kept awake until 04:50 with the Koran from the mosque just in front of the guest house. Guys, this was hardcore singing, I think they were going to blow the top off the mosque as it was so so so loud…waaweawaAWAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHsaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.Indonesia is the biggest cmuslim country in the world, with the biggest population and  they are proud of it!

Another note, girls are beautiful here…

Anyway, I am on the move, heading to Bukit Luwang where they told me you can see one of our last bonds in evolution…orangutans….

see you guys!

5 responses

  1. Nicole

    Hey Jose,

    so funny to read your Medan story as I have just been there about 3 months ago. I must say I hated that city. Ugly , noisy and way too many cars. It took us on average 20mins top cross the road but I guess you have experienced that by now.

    Enjoy Bukit Lawang, it’s a beautiful place and don’t get too annoyed by the guides🙂. Little tipp if you go trekking, always go with 2 guides. I did a trek with only one and got bitten by famous Minna. The rangers are dicks and won’t help you at all in case this happens. If you meet a guide called Ajiz say hi tyo him as he was my guide and tell him i’m alive🙂

    Hope you ake it down to LAke Toba too. Beautiful place to chill and try the mushroom omlettes. Best trip I’ve ever had🙂

    Bye for now.

    Big kiss,
    Nicole

    28/04/2010 at 6:30 am

    • Hi Nicole!!!

      you got bitten by Minna@@???HOLLY SHIT!!!!

      I only went trekking for one day, and I am pretty happy that I didnt spend the night at the jungle, that night it rained like crazy for 4 hours, the river almost overflowed/!!! really fucking scary!!!

      I will make it to Toba, and will let you know about the mushrooms😉

      big kiss! take care!!!!

      03/05/2010 at 10:29 am

    • did you do some diving??? it is awesome here!!

      03/05/2010 at 10:29 am

  2. Nicole

    YEP, i got bitten by her , no pleasure. I see you made it out of the jungle without any injuries. Good stuff😉

    Enjoy lake toba. I stayed at Tabo Cottages , great place and close to there is a little shop with a lovely lady making the best omelettes.

    didn’t do any diving, i’m more of a snorkeller. blubb blubb

    enjoy indonesia, it’s an amazing place.

    i’m just back at work today, very hard!!!

    big kiss, Nicole

    03/05/2010 at 7:50 pm

    • yeah I made it out of BUkit lawang, a little bit wet though!

      I hope you had a good day at work, take it easy!!!

      thanks for the place to stay at lake toba, lets see when I finally make it there, plans tend to change all the time!

      Big kiss Nico!

      04/05/2010 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

