DAY 5: SA WAT DEE KRAP!!

5 day and I am seriously enjoying this….I am fighting back the heat of the place with 3 showers per day, and with fisherman shorts, those are a local “one size fits all”  baggy trausers tipical from Thailand, however, the fact is that they use more western type clothes(at least for what I have seen in Bangkok), so the picture is strange: thais dressed as westerns and westerns dressed as thais…

By now I already know several words, and phrases that I repeat as much as possible to the locals, which I guess they think I am crazy saying “hello” and “how are you doing” to everybody around in every moment, yeah, that is me🙂

During the last two days Ive been exploring the city, taking local buses, sky trains, and river boats with a german dude I met in the hostel (a lot of germans around, a lot of spanish in this hostel as well but I am keeping out of sight), we went to Lumphini park, where the locals gather to run ,do aerobic andTai chi (it looked like tai chi).

The best way to move around, even though it takes time as puntuallity is not their strong point is by local bus, those are very funny, your head bumps on the roof of it so you have to be careful, and they have ventilators  in them, it looks very funny!

Also visited china town, where I had a soup of I dont know what (I never know what is the meat…at least yet) with rice and they served us for “free” the first glass of contaminated water with ice in a metal cup….yeah. we are getting there…

This german guy is very nice, he is young but he has a lot of things to say and knows better than me to move around in this environment, he likes to eat fucking crazy things in the markets….

Today I am leaving Bangkok, heading to the south to Ko Tao, what is supposed to be a small Island of around 5000 people with very clear waters…will let you know when I arrive, that should be somewhere around tomorrow morning, no travel agency as we want to do it without many tourists around.

loh gaarn!

5 responses

  1. Noe

    Ostras Jose!!!!!!!!vaya aventura……………yo nunca me he atrevido…..me das una envidia!!!!!!!!ánimos!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    19/02/2010 at 1:39 pm

  2. iban

    Ese Jose, no pares de contarnos detalles tio!
    Un abrazo desde “Falkenberg bajo nieve”

    19/02/2010 at 6:07 pm

  3. Laura

    Joseleeeeeeeeee!!! Me alegra leer que has llegado bien a BKK y que estás ya perfectamente integrado en el mundillo mochilero. No se si voy a poder seguir leyendo tus aventuras, porque ya solo llevo 2 posts y ME MUERO DE LA ENVIDIAAAAAAAA. Por aqui todo sigue bien, el finde estuvo de puta madre con Ruben y Javi, nos salió un dia de esqui increible! Cuidate mucho y disfruta a tope, besos! PD: Gracias por el libro;-)

    19/02/2010 at 9:30 pm

  4. Kim

    sounds amazing so far…..you should have no trouble with the busses, punctuality isnt your strong suit either!!! keep us updated….

    20/02/2010 at 9:22 am

  5. Rossella

    Joselin!! Q buena idea el blog, me encanta leerte y seguir tus aventuras! Q te vaya todo bien, disfruta al maximo de cualquier experiencia, olor, sonido, emocion!
    Un abrazo muy fuerte…
    Rox y Kike

    21/02/2010 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

